Hi Sgt Ness,
Are tinted driver and passenger side windows considered a moving violation in Illinois? Another words would my licence be suspended if I get citation for it, if I already have two convictions on my record? Thank you!
The Illinois law regarding window tint is outlined in 625 ILCS 5/12-503, and as such is in the equipment violation section of the IVC. However, according to the statute:
"A person found guilty of violating (the paragraphs covering window tint) shall be guilty of a petty offense and fined no less than $50 nor more than $500 (dependant on the State's Attorney recommendation and Judge's ruling) A second or subsequent violation shall be treated as a Class C misdemeanor and the violator fined no less than $100 nor more than $500. Any person convicted shall be ordered to alter any nonconforming windows into compliance with this section"
So, while it is not treated as a moving violation, the offense carries more penalties than a simple equipment violation.